Top 10 Reasons to Dislike Romney

Another one of my old posts from back during the election.  It was in response to someone posting this “Top Ten Reasons to Dislike Mitt Romney” article, specifically #7, which I see a lot.  This whole “reclaim the fabled America of old” movement that existed from the day the nation gained independence and the Tories complained that everything was great back when we still had a king and every generation updates the notion to refer to their childhood, annoys me quite a bit.  Sensing an opportunity for numerous cheap blows lost, I have now included a brand new rebuttal to the other nine entries and placed them in brackets.

________________________

Top Ten Reasons To Dislike Mitt Romney:

1. Drop-dead, collar-ad handsome with gracious, statesmanlike aura. Looks like every central casting’s #1 choice for Commander-in-Chief.  [This might be overselling him]

2. Been married to ONE woman his entire life, and has been faithful to her, including through her bouts with breast cancer and MS.  [He doesn't abandon people he loves when they get sick.  Wow, Newt Gingrich set the bar low for everyone else.]

3. No scandals or skeletons in his closet. How boring is that?  [Yeah, how prescient of this article writer:  She saw that Romney's campaign would not be marred by things he said or did in the private coming back to haunt him.  Also, how could his closet fit any skeletons when it's probably stuffed full of old tax returns?]

4. Can’t speak in a fake, southern, “black preacher voice” when necessary.  [Well, that remains to be proven.  However, he did make a great Hispanic candidate for that one interview.]

5. Highly intelligent. Graduated cum laude from both Harvard Law School and Harvard Business School…and by the way, his academic records are NOT sealed.  [A president from the Ivy League, that would be such a nice change of pace.]

6. Doesn’t smoke or drink alcohol, and has never done drugs, not even in the counter-culture age when he went to college. Too square for today’s America?  [Yes.  Square, beige and textureless.  Besides, draft dodging is probably easier when you're sober]

7. Represents an America of “yesterday”, where people believed in God, went to Church, didn’t screw around, worked hard, and became a SUCCESS!  [See main rebuttal below]

8. Has a family of five great sons….and none of them have police records or are in drug rehab.  But of course, they were raised by a stay-at-home mom, and that “choice” deserves America’s scorn.  [His family seems nice.  Honestly, most Mormon families are so sweet that everyone in their neighborhood ends up with type 2 diabetes.  However, being lucky enough to have a stay-at-home parent is more a sign of financial status than good moral values.]

9. Oh yes…..he’s a MORMON. We need to be very afraid of that very strange religion that teaches its members to be clean-living, patriotic, fiscally conservative, charitable, self-reliant, and honest.   [They also baptize other people's dead, funnel huge sums of money into politics for their own ends, and consider anyone who doesn't believe that God lives on the planet Kolob and the Garden of Eden was in Missouri to be a heretic, so clean-living ain't everything.  Individual Mormons are some of the nicest people you'll meet; their church (of which Romney is a leader) is the problem.]

10. And one more point…..pundits say because of his wealth, he can’t relate to ordinary Americans.  I guess that’s because he made that money HIMSELF…..as opposed to marrying it or inheriting it from Dad. Apparently, he didn’t understand that actually working at a job and earning your own money made you unrelatable to Americans. My goodness, it’s a strange world, isn’t it?  [Considering that the vast majority of Americans work the great bulk of their years away, that's an insulting insinuation.  Also, a lot of those lazy, good-for-nothings without jobs had jobs until Bain Capital ate their company, de-funded it, bet against it, watched it sink and then ate the remains.  If vulture capitalist is the definition of "earning your own money" then bank robbers and car thieves are entrepreneurs too]

http://freethoughtblogs.com/ashleymiller/2012/09/12/i-get-e-mail-mitt-romney-is-super-likable/

What America of yesterday? Which yesterday? – Fanatical Hypocrite
Posted: Sep 23rd, 2012 – 1:34 am In Reply to: Top 10 Reasons to Dislike Mitt Romney – Better than David Letterman

The revolution where we were fighting and dying in the streets? The time after that where we made it illegal to speak ill of the government through the Alien and Sedition Acts? The War of 1812 when we decided to annex Canada for wood and they burned our capital? The intervening years of slavery? The Civil War where American killed American in the bloodiest war of our history and eventually assassinated the man responsible for ending it? The Trail of Tears? The Wild West? World War I? Prohibition? The Depression? World War II? Korea? Segregation? Vietnam? The Nixon administration? The red scare, Cuban Missile Crisis and Cold War with a Russia that never really existed outside our own nightmares (while they fought their own Cold War with an America that didn’t exist either)? The era of widespread southern violence against de-segregation? The Carter financial crash and Iranian hostage situation? Reagan’s administration that oversaw the beginnings of Wall Street’s rise to power and the fundamental destruction of our nation’s financial safeguards because of Washingtonian corruption and widespread lobbying? The Clinton administration which saw us at war with Serbia for no apparent reason, bombing an aspirin factory because we thought it was something else and the further decay of our laws? I’m assuming people remember the last 12 years.

I love America, but America has never been perfect – the human condition, perhaps? Everyone keeps talking about the days where we were all paragons of morality and hard work. Those days never existed. I thought that way about the 1990’s. Do you know why? I was a kid. I was care free. The whole world was at peace and I knew I was safe and loved. People I’ve talked to who are older than me tell me they didn’t remember the 90’s as being such a paradise, now forever adrift in a past only me and my generation remember (at least the other privileged middle class suburbanites of my generation).

Conservatives look back on the 1950’s and the baby boomers as the real America. We just beat the Nazis and everything was perfect. Being predominantly white helps maintain that viewpoint. Meanwhile, liberals look ahead to a future where all the world’s problems have been solved by hugs.

So, what was the perfect time in America? Was it a decade or a year or a month or a day? For some brief moment in time was everyone who worked hard and treated their fellow man with respect universally rewarded for their behavior? Or like me was your paradise an illusion because you were still too small, too ignorant and too sheltered to see the truth? It disrespects all the previous generations to gloss over the hardships they endured and disrespects all the future generations to forget the sins of our past.

About fanaticalhypocrite

I'm your average agnostic Irish Catholic Welsh Jew born in rural West Virginia as the mildly autistic son of a motorcycle riding nurse and an unemployed, ex-military, atheist theology major (likes there's any other kind.) Just another tragically disconnected member of the bitter American proletariat living in the twilight of U.S. world dominance. I'm a medical transcriptionist by day ("They're going to fire me tomorrow" has been my motto for 11 years), a security guard/campground host/lost & found department/problem solver/bouncer/bookkeeper understudy 24/7/365, and a nerdy wannabe writer by night. And also day. My life is basically a non-linear blender full of random activities. And now I run a blog because... why not? It's not like I was using my precious time to cure disease or end world hunger. Might as well tell a bunch of strangers about why [insert anything here] really pisses me off.
This entry was posted in Ye Olde Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 10 Reasons to Dislike Romney

  1. Sabura says:

    Re: Top 10 Reasons to Dislike Romney, more on #10: http://www.salon.com/2012/09/18/mitt_romney_self_made_man

    FH, any chance of getting replies to individual posts enabled? (don’t ask me how; sorry, I never got going with my WordPress blog … maybe pc & si could offer some help) And maybe a font change to Times New Roman or Arial/Verdana or anything else? This default one looks awful on my old CRT monitor (but it’s something I have to deal with many places, so yeah, just ignore my suggestion if you like it as is).

    • Not sure I understand the first question. Isn’t your comment technically a reply to an individual post? Sorry, I’m probably just being dense. As for the font change, I have the most basic (free) service that seemingly doesn’t include font changes. They want to charge me for it. It’s only 30 bucks a year, so I’ll probably go for it eventually. Oddly, even in the preview selection, there’s no Times New Roman or Arial. Weird, huh? Maybe I’m missing something…

      A CRT monitor? Wow, I thought I was the last person who still owned any of them. I like the weight and portability of the flat screens, but unless you go really expensive you can’t get as good a picture quality to my eyes.

      Great Romney article. I had never seen it before.

  2. Sabura says:

    No, I just added the info about which post I was replying to since it’s a general reply function to all at the top now. What I meant was something like this on my just-sitting-there blog, with “Leave a Comment” at the bottom of each post (which was the default, and I had nothing to do with it). http://sabura16.wordpress.com And it seems my default font there is TNR. Weird. I don’t remember ever doing anything with a setting for that either, so who knows why the differences between yours and mine. I guess you’ve got the “new, upgraded” version. Yay for “progress” (a.k.a. fiddling with what ain’t broke in order to justify one’s job, heh).

    Yep, I’ve tried 2 flat screens on this old computer of mine so far, and they drove me bonkers (drove me? heck, I can walk there from here) with the fuzzier text and the moire effect, so I returned them and went back to the old CRT. I’ve worked in-house on flat screens and they seemed to be easier on my eyes fatigue-wise, but I really prefer the CRT clarity and sharper text for transcribing at home.

    Anyway, not to worry about any of the stylistic things I mentioned; I’m happy to be able to read your mental meanderings regardless. It’s definitely the substance that counts. :)

  3. Sabura says:

    (piggybacking on my own post): FH, digging around in my Dashboard I discovered that I’m apparently using the Twenty Ten Theme. http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/twentyten Maybe that’s something you could play around with it (appears to be a free function?) and possibly take care of multiple issues at once. http://theme.wordpress.com

    • That did it. I was automatically on the Twenty Twelve when I signed up. I do like the Twenty Ten theme better.

      For some reason, the last flat screen I had before the one I’m using now, the picture moved almost imperceptibly all the time. Things like movies and games would be fine. Anything with a lot of motion. But things that were supposed to be still, like work, made me nauseous. I ended up having to exchange it for this one. Same model and brand name, but no design flaw. Work already makes me nauseous enough.

      • Sabura says:

        Yay, cool. These older eyes thank you. I don’t know about you, but I played around with multiple themes in preview mode, and I kept coming back to this one. There are a ton to browse through, though, so something to play around with some more later.

Leave a Reply

