Racism, It’s All Fun and Games Until It’s Your Own Race

An unrelated commentary:  I just want to point out that only days after I post my satirical article about how white people are more dangerous than Syrian refugees, there was a white terror attack and now everyone’s on the hatin’ on whitey bandwagon.  You’re welcome, internet, LOL.  I shared it with a friend and they thought it was unfair to Christianity.  I had to explain the joke.  I purposefully wrote it in the same manner as the articles that I found against Muslims.  Hate always looks stupid when it’s held up to the light.  That’s the point of satire.  I can write that same article about any race, religion, nationality, etc.

“There’s a chilling absolution that we’re given from our birth
A powerful delusion and a plague upon the earth
But nothing scares me more
Than the stranger at my door
Who I fail to give shelter, time, and worth” -The Stranger At My Door by Brandi Carlile

Though perhaps the best quote for refugees is Emma Lazarus’ poem “The New Colossus” which sits beneath the Statue of Liberty herself, though most Americans only know the two lines of it:

“Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles.

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Every generation of Americans wants to close the door on the next.  We simply can’t do that.  This is the very heart and soul of America that we’re fighting for.  We all stand here today because of the Mother of Exiles.  Well… except the Native Americans… they were kind of here before.  Though, admittedly, they hadn’t properly utilized the land.  Not a Wal-mart in sight.

About fanaticalhypocrite

I'm your average agnostic Irish Catholic Welsh Jew born in rural West Virginia as the mildly autistic son of a motorcycle riding nurse and an unemployed, ex-military, atheist theology major (likes there's any other kind.) Just another tragically disconnected member of the bitter American proletariat living in the twilight of U.S. world dominance. I'm a medical transcriptionist by day ("They're going to fire me tomorrow" has been my motto for 11 years), a security guard/campground host/lost & found department/problem solver/bouncer/bookkeeper understudy 24/7/365, and a nerdy wannabe writer by night. And also day. My life is basically a non-linear blender full of random activities. And now I run a blog because... why not? It's not like I was using my precious time to cure disease or end world hunger. Might as well tell a bunch of strangers about why [insert anything here] really pisses me off.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

